IEC 60601


IEC 60601 series is published by the International Electrical Commission and establishes standards for the basic safety and essential performance of medical electrical equipment.

The standards delineated in the IEC 60601 series have established a broadly accepted benchmark for medical electrical equipment. IEC 60601-1 outlines the general standards expected to be met by all medical electrical equipment, while IEC 60601-2-XX provides particular standards which apply to specific types of medical electrical equipment.

IEC 60601-1 is continually reviewed, and standards may be added or changed through amendments. It is considered mandatory for most markets, including the EU, the US, and Canada to show evidence of safety and performance. It does not establish standards for effectiveness, but individual markets mandate a certain level of effectiveness in addition to the requirements of the IEC 60601 series.

FREE RESOURCE: Click here to download our 5 Tips for IEC 60601-1 Submissions.

What types of standards are established by IEC 60601 series?

The IEC 60601 series of standards perform important functions for assuring safety and performance of medical electrical devices:

  • They represent a global consensus for compliance
  • They provide a reference for minimum safety requirements of electrical medical devices
  •  They outline design and performance requirements
  • They establish regulatory requirements for market approval

IEC 60601 describes three types of standards – general in IEC 60601-1, collateral in IEC 60601-1-XX and particular in IEC 60601-2-XX.

IEC 60601-1 outlines the general safety and performance requirements of all medical electrical devices. Additional collateral standards in IEC 60601-1-XX are described in 8 parts and include topics such as radiation protection in diagnostic X-ray equipment, Electromagnetic disturbances – requirements & tests, and home healthcare environment. Each of the parts of IEC 60601-1 outlines a minimum standard for medical electrical equipment.

The particular standards IEC 60601-2-XX, however, address minimum requirements for specific medical electrical equipment. For example, IEC 60601-2-4 applies to cardiac defibrillators and IEC 60601-2-19 applies to infant incubators.

Who must adhere to IEC 60601?

IEC 60601 is recommended in the US, Canada, and the EU. In the US, it applies only to new devices, where in the EU all medical devices must adhere to collateral standard EN 60601-1-11, regarding electrical devices used in the home healthcare environment.

In addition to IEC 60601 series, each market has other regulations for approval of medical electrical devices. For example, in the US, FDA requires proof of effectiveness in addition to the safety and performance standards found in the IEC 60601 series.

Greenight Guru Medical Device QMS Software helps monitor compliance with IEC 60601 series and other technical standards

Compliance with the IEC 60601 series is not an optional task for medical device manufacturers who hope to bring a medical device to market, whether in the US, Canada, or the EU.

Greenlight Guru's medical device QMS software is the right choice for medical device manufacturers that want to easily manage the approval process for IEC 60601 series. The process can be drawn out due to numerous steps and documents, and Greenlight Guru provides one place for the organization so they are secure and accessible by the appropriate team members. This level of organization simplifies compliance with requirements for medical electrical devices, including the IEC 60601 series, expediting approval and overall time to market.

Looking for an all-in-one QMS solution to advance the success of your in-market devices and integrates your quality processes with product development efforts? Click here to take a quick tour of Greenlight Guru's medical device QMS software →

Are You Ready to Experience the Greenlight Guru Difference?

Achieve peace of mind knowing your quality system can stay ahead of compliance changes.

Request a Demo
5 Tips for IEC 60601-1 Submissions
Download Now
5 Tips for IEC 60601-1 Submissions - Slide-in Cover
Search Results for:
    Load More Results